New Miranda (Self-Betterment Projects) · Uncategorized

2016 In Review

Now that Facebook has started to post those “Year in Review” videos, does that mean I can start obsessing over my New Year’s Resolutions? Because I watched my FB reel and it was depressing as shit. By the way, and I feel like this shouldn’t have to be said, but unless you’re living life like a Niestat-esque adventurer, or shaking the Prime Minister’s hand in a gay pride parade (Jan), no one wants to watch your Year in Review video. I didn’t even want to watch my own this year – it was just filled with pictures of my kids. Which is fine. Understandable, even, being that they require 24/7 care and I am their mother. They are adorable and they are the light of my life and all that crap. But, seriously? Is this all I am? A shell of a woman whose only worth comes from her 4 and 6 year old children? This is it for me now?

It would be nice if my Year In Review video had, oh I don’t know, some pictures of me in it?! Maybe some friends? That would be nice.

I am being a little unfair to myself. I did some fun things this year. I went to Cuba with my girlfriends, my first time more than 1000km from home. I saw the ocean for the first time since I was a child. I flew to Toronto a couple of times and met up with friends I hadn’t seen in 10 years. I bought a car, and got my license – in that order; related: I got into my first tiny car accident (more of a car incident, really, with a parking garage). I  discovered mail art and sent and received a ton of letters from all over the world. I have LIVED. More or less.

And yet… I feel like I could do more. I’m going to make 2017 even better. I’m just not quite sure how I’m going to do that yet.

A picture of me in 2016 – for posterity.

img_7743

*Yeah, I’m wearing a coat. This is Canada, fer christ sakes!

2 thoughts on “2016 In Review

  1. I felt the same way about my year in review! It was lame even though I had a pretty fun year… I feel like the only purpose of the Review is to make you feel like you need to post more crap on Facebook next year, but it’s working. It’s impossible to beat the zuckerberg.

    1. Ha ha! Toooo true. I am 99% sure I am going to take a break from Facebook in the new year. No more checking my feed. I’m an addict and need to quit cold turkey.

Leave a Reply

